Performing a reset on a RIM BlackBerry 8700c.
SUBJECT:
Performing a reset on a RIM BlackBerry 8700c.
FACT:
RIM BlackBerry 8700c
SYMPTOM:
Restarting a RIM BlackBerry
Resetting a RIM device
Hard Reset
Soft Reset
Master Reset
Wipe Handheld
FIX:

Soft Reset:

  • Simultaneously press Alt+Cap+Delete to perform a soft reset.
    Note: This reset will not result in data loss.

Hard Reset:

  • Remove and reinsert the battery to perform a hard reset.
    Note: This reset will not result in data loss.

Master Reset When Desktop Cradle is Available:
WARNING:
A master reset will result in the loss of ALL user data! Proceed with caution.

  1. Verify the latest version of Desktop Manager and Handheld software is installed on the user's PC. If they are not, install them.
    NOTE: The latest RIM BlackBerry Desktop Software and Service Packs can be found at the BlackBerry download website.
  2. Place the device in the cradle.
  3. In the Desktop Manager software Select the Application Loader.

  4. Click Next until you get to the list of applications to be downloaded to the device.
  5. Instead of clicking "Finish" click Advanced.
  6. Check both check boxes to erase all application data.
  7. The device should display "Loader Activity...".
  8. When this is complete the device should contain just the applications, but no user specific information

Master Reset When Desktop Cradle is Not Available:
WARNING: A master reset will result in the loss of ALL user data! Proceed with caution.
Note: If the device's keyboard has failed or is suspected to have failed, the cradled method outlined above must be used.

Prerequisite: Disable Content Protection before master resetting the handheld.
IMPORTANT: If content protection is enabled and a master reset is performed the process can take an hour or more to complete.

  1. Scroll to the Settings icon and press Select (to select push the trackwheel in).
  2. Scroll to the Options icon and press Select.
  3. Scroll to Security Options and press Select.

  4. Scroll to General Settings and press Select.

  5. The General Setting screen will appear.

  6. Disable Content Protection.
    NOTE: If Content Protection is enabled and a Wipe Handheld is performed it can take hours before the wipe completes.
  7. Click the trackwheel, Select Wipe Handheld Data.

  8. The device is going to confirm that the data will be erased. Select Continue.
    WARNING: A master reset will result in the loss of ALL user data!

  9. Enter "blackberry" to confirm the handheld wipe.

NOTE:
When a BlackBerry device is removed from the BlackBerry Enterprise Server, IT Policies are not removed from the device, even if you wipe the device. This is a security feature and by design. Only the IT/BES Administrator can remove IT Policies.
For more information on IT Policies that cannot be removed from the handheld RIM Technical Knowledge Center: KB-04750.
If security lock is enabled and the password is entered incorrectly 10 times, a master reset will occur.


If you are viewing information on devices or services, please note: content reflects instructions for devices and services purchased from AT&T.
Some differences may exist for devices not purchased from AT&T.


Top